Boss Hog – Boss Hog

Boss_Hog_albumI originally bought this CD because A: John Spencer Blues Explosion was blowing up (absolutely no pun intended) so I was looking for more of the same flavor and B: I love side projects.
I’ve always felt side projects tend to write riskier songs. I’m not sure if I feel this is because I’m judging them against the original bands or because the bands don’t feel like they have to please the fans that pay the bills.

My immediate reaction to Winn Coma is that I’m sad I never saw them live. This song would be a perfect show opener. Cristina Martinez sounds a little like Donita Sparks without the whiskey and cigarettes. The drum sound is mixed so John Spencer can show you how cool his guitar sounds. There’s no high end at all, it sounds great on the snare but shitty on everything else.

The next track, Sick: Oh god. These lyrics are corny as hell. I’m not such a fan of goofy lyrics for the most part, and the way the song swings just makes them feel like an improvised jumble. I feel like Martinez just showed up to rehearsal, grabbed a mic and started spitballing improv over an unfinished song at practice, and they just called it a day. 311 moment: “I wish I had a uncle Bill”

IMG_00291

The album is kind of monochromatic, but here are some Cliff Notes:

Beehive is an interlude reminding us with a faux twang and Jew’s harp that John Spencer is on this album.

Easily the one of the best tracks on this album, Ski Bunny has a surf-punk guitar line, handclaps and Kim Gordon-esque growls. The samples are hilarious when you notice them. They just kind of go “pew pew pew” over top of the music, with little attempt to weave them into the song.

With no pause, the band goes into Green Shirt, which is a simple track that pummels the listener before dropping us into
I Dig You, which was the single that I saw on some weird MTV knock-off video show at 3 in the morning in the mid 90s, is my favorite track. Clunky and full of faux soul and Fat Elvis caricature, it’s a great mission statement for the band and album both.

White Sand has nice texture, and I like Martinez’s creepy whisper against the analog synths.

I feel like I Dig You was written as a compliment to their Ike Turner cover: I Idolize You. What a fitting choice.

I really feel like Boss Hog made a good punk record with just enough novelty to be fun and weird, but not so much as to be off putting.

Verdict: You should definitely have this if you like ’90s indie, but don’t worry about missing out if it’s not your scene.

Leave a comment